Utah Department of Natural Resources

The Utah Department of Natural Resources is one of the state’s largest agencies and helps ensure the quality of life of Utah residents by managing and protecting the state’s abundant natural resources. The department includes seven divisions: State Parks and Recreation; Oil, Gas and Mining; Forestry, Fire and State Lands; Water Resources; Water Rights; Wildlife Resources and the Utah Geological Survey.

DNR protects Utah’s natural resources through active management, which includes engaging state, county and local officials; collaborating with community members, organizations and groups and coordinating with our federal partners. Active management of resources like watersheds, wildlife, oil and gas, minerals and water, allows the state to forecast challenges, solve complex opportunities and anticipate and meet future needs.