South Carolina Department of Natural Resources

The agency as organized on July 1, 1994, under the S.C. Restructuring Act is composed of the former Wildlife and Marine Resources Department, Water Resources Commission (non-regulatory programs), Land Resources Commission (non-regulatory programs), State Geological Survey (State Geologist), and S.C. Migratory Waterfowl Committee. These have been combined into the present division structure. The Department has developed a vision for the future to guide the agency in its mission and provide the public with a clear understanding of its plan to preserve South Carolina's natural wealth.