Humboldt Waste Management Authority

Humboldt Waste Management Authority (HWMA) was established by a Joint Powers Agreement comprised of the County of Humboldt and the Cities of Arcata, Blue Lake, Eureka, Ferndale and Rio Dell in 1999. 

HWMA is committed to waste reduction and materials diversion activities, beginning with diversion of green waste from the local landfill, expanding over the years to include recycling, CRV Buy-Back, household hazardous wastes, universal wastes (batteries, fluorescent bulbs, medical sharps), electronic wastes, appliances, oil and other automotive fluids, carpet recycling, paint-care and re-use, and tires. Authority staff work closely with our member agencies, franchise haulers and the public to identify opportunities to reduce, re-use and remove other materials from the waste stream.